Chapter 70

“I’m sorry, Heath.”

When Fii came back, she found York bowing to her.

The suddenness of it all caused her to panic.

“I-, I’m the one who should be saying sorry! I called you an idiot, Captain,” she cried as she shook her head.

York’s expression was serious.

“Then, you’ll forgive me?”

“Yes! Of course!”

She had been worried that things would be awkward between them, but who would have expected that York would apologise to her.
Feeling relieved, she thought to herself again that the Captain really was magnanimous.

Fii’s mood was great now, having reconciled faster than expected.

“Then from now on you’ll treat girls more nicely, right?”

“Huh? Why would I?”

His expression told that he truly had no idea what she was talking about.
Fii began to sweat.

“C-, Captain, wasn’t your sorry an apology…?”

“Umu. I upset you, after all. I’m quite sure my attitude offended you somehow. I’m also quite thankful for the good relationship we have. That’s why I decided to apologise first. But it looks like you’ve forgiven me. Thank goodness.”

Fii could feel a deep sense of despair welling up inside.

(This guy… is totally hopeless… He didn’t reflect at all…!)

She finally realised it.
York was simply apologising.
It wasn’t that he realised he had done something bad; he simply wanted to continue his relationship with Fii, so he decided to say sorry.

It was terrible.
She needed to have a word with him.

“Captain… The reason I was angry is because you said something cruel to a girl!”

“Something cruel?”

“Didn’t you make that maid girl cry?”

“But it was necessary.”

“Even if it was necessary, couldn’t you have said it in a nicer way?”

“No, I am quite certain that was the best way. There’s proof. After saying it like that, I suspect she will never approach me again.”

Fii’s mouth hung open in shock.

“Y-, You don’t think at all that you should be gentler with girls!?”

“Why. Even if I do that, it won’t help get any jobs done. In fact, by saying it the way I did, I improved efficiency by reducing downtime.”

“If you keep doing things like that, one day a girl is going to make you suffer, you know?”

“You mean if the women stage a rebellion? Bring it on. When they come, I’ll show them just how I suppress them!”

Even though Fii thought they had been talking about how he needed to be gentler to girls, for some reason she could see a weird aura around York and hear the sound of excited rumbling.
Why. Why did it turn into such a weird conversation…

Fii was at her wits’ end.

But, she understood the gist of things. In other words, being kind to women wouldn’t help his job, so he wouldn’t do it. In fact, they got in the way when they approached, so he wanted them to stay away.

“Captain…”

Fii hung her head a little sadly.

“Captain, if I was useless to you, would you not treat me kindly like this…?”

‘I don’t want him to nod…’

Those words passed through her heart.


<Previous Chapter | Index | Next Chapter>

33 thoughts on “Chapter 70

  1. Pingback: Chapter 69 | 'Ball'-kicking Gang Boss

  2. An idiot!!! He’s an idiot!!! *shouts in the mountains*

    Well he’s an idiot who is unconciously super sweet on Heath, so he’s forgiven.

    Btw York-sama… the girl who is gonna make you suffer is in front of you, you know? ^^;;

    Liked by 13 people

  3. Fii! Well done! Well done!

    ““If you keep doing things like that, one day a girl is going to make you suffer, you know?” the foreshadowing!
    We all know what this means! o(≧▽≦)o fufufufufufufufufufufufufu

    Liked by 8 people

  4. Pingback: I'll Live My Second Life! | Chapter 70 - Light Novels Feed

  5. Hohoho, I look forward to the time when these words come to haunt you, Roy.

    A little part of me hopes that Fii will start distancing herself, thinking he doesn’t care about her and only sees her as a tool. When he finally starts to love her… Hohoho, this’ll be fun.

    Roy, Roy, Roy. I look forward to the time where you are tormented by your own words and actions.

    Also, he’s fucking dumb. How did that wind up as staging a rebellion? Dammit Roy. Realize that at least half your castle is kept in good state because of women, so they’re just as necessary.

    Though it’s true that romance is a pain.

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Pingback: Chapter 71 | 'Ball'-kicking Gang Boss

  7. Ahahahaha, Karma’s gonna hurt like a b***h Roy-boy!

    And I can’t for the day when Roy realises his true denseness

    Thanks for the chappy Este! 😛

    Like

  8. thank you—!
    i…i…
    how dare he not regret what he did to fii?!? -clenches fist, blazing fire in eyes- where are the restrainers to teach him about human rights?! huh, huh—?! kain, just step out of your role as grass and advise him! his actual retainers are horrible!
    i have a lot more to say, but i shall restrain my anger and just…
    -flips so many tables, kicks wall repeatedly-

    Like

  9. Roy is such an emotional retard that I can’t help but find him endearing, in a “you’re such an idiot” kind of a way. And lol at the rebellion comment. And at him actually getting fired up about it. Although I’m wondering if he dislikes women in and of themselves or just dislikes the waste of time they cause by trying to get involved with him.

    The foreshadowing is strong though in this one.

    Thank you for all the chapters.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Chapter 72 – Kain-san 2 | 'Ball'-kicking Gang Boss

  11. He really is an idiot. If he really pisses of a princess from a country and she holds political power, than this can mean war.

    Like

  12. After reading this I have to believe that Roy is gay and just hasn’t figure it out yet
    all the signs are there he only surrounds himself with men. he created his ideal all men harem. His views on women and the way he more worried about the version of Fii feelings than any women. We should just realize that Fii made her way into his BL story and she the bad end trap.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

